Winter Words

Can you believe it is already February? As the weather has turned colder, we had not one, but two snow days in the last month! The entire month focused on the general theme of the weather: winter. One great thing about winter is that there is a lot to learn about! Winter animals, hibernation, winter clothing, and snow activities are just some of the things I covered with my students this month. Here are some of the fun activities we did.

Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? by Bill Martin Jr./Eric Carle

This is a fun book to teach animal vocabulary. Along with it, this polar bear craft was super easy and low prep! I traced a polar bear outline onto paper and had the kids fill it in using torn white paper. I gave pieces as reinforcement for completing articulation/phonology practice or other drills.

We’re Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen

img_0367

The original “bear hunt” is a book, but I confess, I didn’t read it to my students! Instead, we watched this youtube version. This was much more interactive, especially for some of my minimally verbal kids. Plus, preschoolers love music. I found a cute (and free) map printable from Pink Stripey Socks that we used to follow along with the song. Some students practiced imitating motor actions to follow along with the song. Others practiced using spatial concepts including “over,” “under,” “in,” and “through”. After narrowly escaping from the bear, articulation students fed their target words to this bear!

The Jacket I Wear in the Snow by Shirley Neitzel

51r8uhrru8l-_sx258_bo1204203200_

This book is written using both pictures and words. I had my kids help me “read” it by pausing and having them label the picture as I read each sentence. The repetitive nature of this book helped reinforce new vocabulary words. It also works well for pronouns (e.g., “he is wearing ____”). Making Learning Fun has some free story companion worksheets that are low prep and lots of fun.

These are just a few of the winter themed activities from this month. As you can see, I did a lot of literacy based activities. Great for easy planning, and also great for a variety of therapy targets! What are your favorite winter activities?

Leave a Reply

