Fun on the Farm!

I love talking about the farm this time of year! Usually, I have so many activities I can stretch this out for few weeks and target it more than once during the year. Here are just a couple of activities from the week:

We made our own barns!

This was an easy craft with minimal prep. I printed pictures of animals and made two cuts in a piece of red construction paper. Fold the sides in to make doors and you’re done! With many of my students, labeling animals and animal sounds was a challenge. We also worked on identifying animals receptively, CV sounds, and spatial directions with this craft.

We did sensory activities!

img_0340

If you’ve seen my other posts, you probably know that I am a big fan of sensory boxes. The one pictured above is my “travel” sensory box, so it’s a bit smaller than my usual one. Because it is smaller, I hid pictures (laminated) in the beans. In my bigger one I would use toy animals to make it more fun! I used this with all of my kids and it was a big hit! Even some of my less verbal students imitated some sounds with this.

Of course, my themes would not be complete without books. This week I used “The Very Busy Spider,” by Eric Carle, “Click Clack Moo, Cows that Type,” by Doreen Cronin, and “Duck for President,” also by Doreen Cronin. These three books are each at different levels which was perfect for use with my students of all abilities. With the upcoming election, “Duck for President” was an especially funny read!

 

Also perfect for preschool are all the farm themed songs! We sang lots of “Old McDonald” and “The Farmer in the Dell” this week. Hope you enjoy these activities as much as we did!

 

 

Leave a Reply

