Better Hearing and Speech Month

May is Better Hearing and Speech Month (BHSM)! I can’t tell you how many times the question “What do you do?” has been followed up with “What is that?” I have even found that some professionals I work with don’t have a clear idea of all that the term “SLP” encompasses. May is the month to shine!

If you haven’t seen it yet, the ASHA web page has some free, printable resources to spread awareness. ASHA is also my go to source for finding parent friendly information on communication development and disorders!

This month,  I have an opportunity to share some knowledge about our field with my school board. At the end of the month, I will be speaking about augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) and how we use it at my school. As I have compiled information into a user-friendly handout, the ASHA website (and old grad school notes) has been a huge resource. Before printing off my final draft, I figured I would ask advice from you readers. As parents, educators, and SLPs, what would you want to know? What do you wish SLPs shared with you? What do you think are the most important points to share with others?

I look forward to your comments! My finished handout will hit my TpT page at the end of the month!

Leave a Reply

