Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?

brownbearbrownbearwhatdoyousee

I am a huge fan of Eric Carle’s books! This week, we read “Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?” and completed a few different activities related to the book. This book is awesome for sequencing, easy enough for preschoolers to retell, and targets some very basic animals and colors.

Emergent readers are a great way to target many of these concepts. My students really liked having their own story to take home with them! There are many free printable emergent readers online. I found one that I liked on www.makinglearningfun.com.

I wasn’t ready to put away my sensory box just yet, so I converted the garden into a “Brown Bear” themed box! I printed and laminated characters from the book and also filled the box with different colored items (feathers, pom poms, etc.). I had my students look for certain colored objects and sort them based on color. This also worked well for those that needed work on identifying their colors. Here is a picture of the box:

IMG_0178

My craft for the week was to make a “brown bear” using construction paper. This activity required minimal prep and was great for groups. Each student earned pieces by practicing therapy targets and put the bear together in between trials. Here is a photo of our bears!

IMG_0179

We had fun telling and retelling this story all week long! What are your favorite Eric Carle books? What are your favorite “Brown Bear” activities?

 

Leave a Reply

