The Very Hungry Caterpillar

IMG_1555

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle was the theme for this week! This is such a fun story that many of my students asked to read multiple times. Here are some of the activities I used to to work on speech and language targets.

 

 

 

This book lends itself well to any goals focused on sequencing. It also was great for food vocabulary and days of the week review. The overarching message that I hope every student learned is that caterpillars turn into butterflies. Luckily, most of my students got that from the “surprise” ending in the book. For the ones who needed a little extra help, I used a stuffed puppet that I have had since I was little!

This caterpillar just turns inside out to morph into a butterfly. How cool is that?

For sequencing, we enjoyed “feeding” the caterpillar everything he ate in the story. There are so many awesome ways to do this, but being strapped for time as I often am, I found this printable very quick, easy, and just as enjoyable!

caterpillarziploc-300x231

Just laminate everything and use! This is available for free from Teaching Heart Blog. I found the pieces that come with this a little small for some of my children, but was easily able to find larger pictures that still fit into this caterpillar. Another sequencing activity I used is this worksheet from Teachers Love.

 

This was a fun way to put the story in order while also building a caterpillar.

Other activities from the week included puzzles, themed dot worksheets (available from totschooling here) and crafts.  I used puzzle pieces as reinforcers for articulation and language targets. They were very motivating! Printable puzzles are available from fellow blogger Playdough to Plato.

 

There are so many fun activities that go with this theme…we didn’t finish it all in one week! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

