Pizza Plans

Finding enough materials to cover a week or more of a theme can sometimes be a challenge. As I looked through our toy and game cabinet at work last week, I originally planned to make things “easy” and forgo a theme. However, we had a lot of activities related to food, more specifically pizza, so without much planning, a theme fell into place! Here are a few activities I used this week for a “pizza” theme:

To introduce the theme, I read “The Little Red Hen Makes a Pizza,” a cute spin off of the original story. This book was a little lengthy for my preschoolers, but it was very easy to summarize to teach the main vocabulary. After reading the story, we made paper plate pizzas! The photograph above is an example from 2care2each4kids; I forgot to take pictures this week! The materials for this craft were very simple. All you will need is:

  • Paper plates
  • Red crayons
  • Red, yellow and white construction paper
  • Glue

I had my students color the sauce using a crayon, and then had pre-cut slices of red pepperoni and strips of yellow and white paper for cheese. They really enjoyed sprinkling that cheese on top!

After introducing main vocabulary, we had fun building pizzas another way using this game:

tr671_f

This was great to use as reinforcement between articulation and language targets, and it also worked well for for following directions.

Finally, I made a felt pizza game similar to the one pictured below by Ten Things Farm.

2011_01270007

This was another fun way to reinforce pizza topping vocabulary, and my students enjoyed earning pizza toppings after practicing artic and language targets.

After a week spent talking about pizza, you can bet I had pizza for dinner this weekend!

Leave a Reply

