Evaluations

With the beginning of the school year have come many, many new students as well as new speech and language referrals! My coworkers and I have been very busy keeping up with evaluations this fall. Working with preschoolers, I often use the PLS-5 or CELF P2 for language assessment paired with the GFTA-2 to test articulation, with supplementals on a case by case basis. Completing two assessments for a busy three year old can sometimes take up to an hour…or more depending on skill level. Often I have found that children will fatigue or simply get bored before completing testing. Additionally, the children I evaluate are  uninterested in test materials or have difficulty sitting for such a sustained period of time. In an effort to collect complete information and have a “back up” plan, I created two forms that I like to pull out in desperate times!

Screen shot 2015-11-11 at 9.00.34 AM

Here is a screenshot of my self created case history and play observations forms. Between these two forms, I can usually collect enough informal information to get an idea of the child’s skills. I tend to tailor each form slightly depending on the age of the child. It is great to be able to do play based assessments using these! Often, I see skills that I might not otherwise see using a standardized test. What tips do you have for assessments?

Leave a Reply

